Search This Blog

Thursday, June 30, 2011

Norizman rides his way back onto the winnerÂ’s rostrum

PETALING JAYA: Norizman Ismail proved that his first victory of the season in the last leg at Putrajaya was no fluke as once again he set the pace to win the fifth leg of the Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship at Teluk Intan yesterday.

The Harian Metro TEQ SCK Honda Racing rider completed the 14-lap CP130 race with a total time of 13:33.186 while Petronas Syntium Moto Yamaha AHMÂ’s Mohd Ramdan Mohd Rosli had to settle for second place (13:35.854). NorizmanÂ’s team-mate, Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman took third spot.

Meanwhile, defending champion Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (Petronas Syntium Moto Yamaha Raceline) who is making a comeback after missing the first four legs due to his participation in the Asia Road Racing Championship (ARRC) could only finish fourth.

“Actually I didn’t push all out during this morning’s qualifying sessions because I wanted to find out who were my main contenders,” said Norizman who start from second on the grid.

“Hafizh who had dominated during practice and qualifying was the one to beat but I was confident of winning because I have studied his strengths and weaknesses. Besides it was my experience which pulled me through on race day.”

“Nevertheless it was still a very challenging race and I went all out for it. My initial target was only to finish within the top three but I’m really glad to have beaten Hafizh and secured back-to-back victories,” said the 26-year-old Norizman.

With the win, Norizman extended his lead in the championship standings to 79 points – 27 ahead of second placed Ahmad Fazli Sham (Penzoil Fastrac Racing) who has 52 points while Mohd Affendi Rosli (Harian Metro TEQ SCK Honda Racing) is third with 51 points.

The championship will resume with the sixth leg at Alor Setar, Kedah from July 22-23.

Leading finishers: 1. Norizman Ismail (Harian Metro TEQ SCK Honda Racing) 13:33.186, 2. Mohd Ramdan Mohd Rosli (PETRONAS Syntium Moto Yamaha AHM) 13:35.854, 3. Azlan Shah Kamaruzman (Harian Metor TEQ SCK Honda Racing) 13:42.589, 4. Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (PETRONAS Syntium Moto Yamaha Raceline) 13:47.091, 5. Mohd Iskandar Raduan (PETRONAS Syntium Moto Yamaha Raceline) 13:47.747. Leading overall standings: 1. Norizman 79 pts, 2. Ahmad Fazli Sham (Pennzoil Fastrac Racing) 52, 3. Mohd Affendi Rosli (Harian Metro TEQ SCK Honda Racing) 51, 4. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Pachie Yuzy Honda Racing) 47, 5. Mohd Ramdan Mohd Rosli (PETRONAS Syntium Moto Yamaha AHM) 45.

Leading finishers: 1. Ahmad Abdul Kadir (APIDO Yamaha Boon Kui Racing) 11:45.784, 2. Shahril Izzuwan Mohd Noor (PETRONAS Syntium Moto Yamaha AHM) 11:47.712, 3. Mohd Rozaliman Zakaria (ZAR Racing Motorsports) 11:47.911, 4. Mohd Emir Firdaus Hasan (MSeki Liberty Honda Racing) 11:53.585, 5. Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Motul Yamaha YY Pang Racing) 11:54.084. Leading overall standings: 1. Shahril Izzuwan 81, 2. Zaidy Mohd Zaifaizal (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) 76, 3. Mohd Emir 54, 4. Mohd Adli Salihin (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) 54, 5. Mohd Rozaliman Zakaria 51.

Leading finishers: 1. Zulsyafiz Rosli (MOS Malaysia Racing) 9:59.966, 2. Mohd Khairul Adli Azhar (Suzuki Fortyone Racing) 10:00.078, 3. Mohd Adib Rosley (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) 10:02.195, 4. Mohd Amin Mohd Azahar (MOS Malaysia Racing) 10:02.774, 5. Mohd Solehin Mohd Sukor (Honda Promax X-Dot Racing) 10:12.242. Leading overall standings: 1. Zulsyafiz 89, 2. Mohd Hafiza Rofa (Faito YSP Racing) 75, 3. Nurahmad Fariznazreen (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) 59, 4. Mohd Adib 56, 5. Mohd Khairul 20.


Post a Comment