Search This Blog

Monday, June 6, 2011

Eleven announced for Hall of Fame

From the Motorcyclists Confederation of Canada

MARKHAM, ON -- Eleven motorcycling legends and champions are to be inducted into the Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame on Nov. 5 at the Delta Meadowvale Resort and Conference Centre in Mississauga, ON. This accomplished group of men and women have achieved excellence in one or more competitive disciplines or made a significant contribution to the well-being, advancement or general positive image of motorcycling in Canada.

The inductees for 2011 are:
*       Larry Bastedo - Contributor and Competitor
*       Herb Becker - Builder, Supporter
*       John Clare - Contributor
*       Kathleen Coburn - Competitor: Road Racing, Enduro, Superbike
*       Jon Cornwell - Competitor: Dirt Track, Ice, Road Racing
*       John De Gruchy - Competitor: Trials, Scrambles
*       Len Dillon - Competitor: Speedway, Dirt Track
*       Moe Fraser - Competitor: Dirt Track
*       Jack Hunt - Competitor: Motocross
*       Rueben McMurter - Competitor: Road Racing
*       Toni Sharpless - Competitor: 1/2 mile, Ice, Road Racing, Enduro

The candidates will officially be inducted into the Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame in November as part of the 6th Annual Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Banquet and Reunion. Tickets for this special gala event will be available soon through the Hall of Fame website at

Following the great success of the 2010 Induction Banquet in Vancouver, this year's event promises to be another fun-filled evening of great storytelling - where inductees and their friends, fans and families can catch-up and share memories and plans for future accomplishments.

Founded by Bar and Hedy Hodgson in 1999, the Canadian International Motorcycle Heritage Museum Foundation preserves and promotes Canadian motorcycle history for the benefit of the motorcycling community and public. The Canadian Motorcycle Hall of Fame was added to the Foundation operations in 2005, with the first inductions made in May of 2006.  For more information about past inductees, historic motorcycle collections, event sponsorship, and tax-deductible donations, visit


Post a Comment